top of page

Other quick notes that matter

I have discovered Brainard Carey over the past few months. He has been instrumental in my development. I have watched his videos online about "making it in the art world". I have read his book "How to Make It in the Artworld" which I got from the library and I even talked to him on the phone. I am not paying him anything just getting inspired. I am sure he is worth a consultation fee though. His knowledge that he has shared, his passion, has been invaluable to me. I am doing a time management with my art and career development from his book I just mentioned and it produces results.

Also, as suggested by Brainard, I reached out to a friend of mine, David Grant, who is also an artist who works with graffiti, watercolor, comics and more. I reached out to him to receive two emails a week from me on my progress with my professional development as an artist. Dave has been invaluable as well. He is THE person that influenced my choice to focus my work in on Spirits, Souls and Ghosts via my website and my work has really taken off since then in a really great way.

I am so thankful to have both of these people in my life.

Also of note, I am scheduled to meet with Alex Nicholis Coon soon who is the director of the Massillon Museum. I showed there in their lower level in the space they call Studio M when it was first being developed. That show went well. It was also for black and white paintings and ink drawings. I destroyed all of those however out of unrest with my work and life. It will be healing I hope to reconnect with Alex and perhaps work again in this new season of my life.

In addition, I have also contacted Elizabeth M. Carney to meet with. She is the assistant curator at the Akron Art Museum where it is a life goal to show. But I will just be meeting with her to discuss art, each of our work and perhaps my upcoming show.

I am putting more and more of an emphasis on my art here which is scary but also what I have dreamed about for so long.

I want to also mention here that I met with the independent curator Cornelia Lauf through MOCA Cleveland. She reviewed my work as part of a visiting curator program put on by MOCA Cleveland. She did not pick me to have a studio visit with however I attended a cocktail party at the museum there in Cleveland that proceeded a talk she was giving and I got a chance to chat with her about my work. She said she liked it, that she thought I was trying to stave off the dark. I'm paraphrasing but that was the gist. She also recommended taking Goodwill off of my CV as it did not convey a professional art-minded face to interested parties. That is tough because not only do I sort of really love Goodwill but it is also my livelihood at this point in my life. I am going to take Goodwill off of my CV on my website which IS for art and keep a separate resume specifically for Goodwill and basically all the management experience that I am gaining there. Life lessons that I learn there I am sure are going into my work ethic and demeanor in my artistic practice as well. I would love to say one day that Goodwill taught me much about life and work and instilled in me the confidence to go confidently in the direction of my dreams as

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page